MAFP Annual Meeting

The MAFP Annual Meeting serves as the platform for Family Physicians in Michigan to reflect on successes from the past year and identify the challenges that lie ahead. At the Annual Meeting, members assemble to examine proposed changes to MAFP policy and governance, elect new leadership, and debate issues that impact members.

2016 Annual Meeting | Call for Resolutions

MAFP will solicit resolutions for consideration at the 2016 MAFP Annual Meeting. Any member in good standing is invited to submit a resolution(s), which will be accepted, reviewed and voted on at the Annual Meeting with approval requiring a majority vote. All approved resolutions affecting the American Academy of Family Physicians (AAFP) will be sent to the American Academy of Family Physicians (AAFP) for consideration at the next convening of the AAFP Congress of Delegates.

To assist you in writing a resolution, check out these resources:

  • MAFP's Resolution Writing 101
  • Example: The resolution offered by MAFP Member and Alternate Delegate to the AAFP Congress, Peter Graham, MD, was approved at the 2015 MAFP Annual Meeting of Members and sent to the AAFP for consideration at the 2015 Congress of Delegates in September. After discussion, the resolution was amended and passed by the Congress, as amended. View this resolution >>

When you are ready to write your resolution, you may use this template.

Please submit your resolutions no later than June 1, 2016, to MAFP Headquarters via email at or via mail to 2164 Commons Parkway, Okemos, MI 48864. Please call Director of Government Affairs Christin Nohner at 517.664.9082 with any questions.

Highlights from the 2015 Annual Meeting

The 2015 MAFP Annual Meeting was held Friday, July 24, at the Grand Traverse Resort in Traverse City, in conjunction with the Michigan Family Medicine Annual Conference & Expo, July 23-26, 2015. The Annual Meeting included updates from Academy Leadership—President Tina Tanner, MD and Chief Executive Officer Debra N. McGuire, MBA, IOM, CAE—as well as special guest speaker, Robert Wergin, MD, FAAFP, President of the American Academy of Family Physicians (AAFP).

Upon convening the Annual Meeting, the members adopted new rules of order to provide clarification on the parliamentary procedure for the Annual Meeting. In addition to the election of the 2015-16 Board of Directors and a presentation to award four (4) Family Physicians the AAFP Degree of Fellow, members considered and approved a number of proposed changes to the MAFP Bylaws as well as one (1) resolution entitled "Patient Satisfaction Measurement". The resolution was referred to the American Academy of Family Physicians (AAFP) for further action at the AAFP Congress of Delegates September 28-30 in Denver, CO, and was adopted by the Congress with minor editorial changes.

In addition, outgoing MAFP Treasurer William Gifford, MD was announced as the 2015 recipient of the Presidential Award for Distinguished Service by the Academy.

Additional Information: