Academy Awards

Each year, MAFP honors outstanding individuals in the Michigan Family Medicine community who exemplify the mission, vision, and values of the Academy. Awards are presented at the Michigan Family Medicine Annual Conference & Expo (for information about the 2016 Annual Conference & Expo taking place July 11-14 in Bay City, see upcoming events).

To nominate a deserving individual in one of the award categories listed below, complete the nomination form and submit the required supporting materials to MAFP by March 1, 2016. (Please submit one nomination per form.)


Award Descriptions/Nomination Information

For more information about the award categories, including a more detailed description and eligibility criteria for each award, see the sections below. There is no cost to submit a nomination, and self-nominations are acceptable.

Michigan Family Physician of the Year
The Michigan Family Physician of the Year award is presented annually to a member physician who exemplifies the traditions and values of the Family Medicine profession, and clearly demonstrates the desire to contribute to the continuing health of Michigan residents.

Michigan Family Medicine Educator of the Year
The Michigan Family Medicine Educator of the Year award is presented annually to an individual who has made outstanding contributions to undergraduate and graduate Family Medicine education, as well as continuing medical education.

Michigan Family Medicine Resident of the Year
The Michigan Family Medicine Resident of the Year award is presented annually to a resident who exhibits qualities of exemplary patient care, demonstrates leadership, displays a commitment to the community, contributes to scholarly activity, and is dedicated to the specialty of Family Medicine.

The Archie Award of Excellence
The Archie Award of Excellence is presented annually to honor a Michigan resident who differentiates himself/herself by their actions on behalf of MAFP and the healthcare community, similar to the late Archie W. Bedell, MD, PhD. Dr. Bedell was a long-time member and past president of MAFP and distinguished himself in service to the Academy, the specialty of Family Medicine, and the community-at-large throughout his career. Nominees do not have to be MAFP members or Family Physicians.

Award nominations are reviewed by the MAFP Nominating Committee, which then submits its recommendations to the MAFP Board of Directors. Final approval and selection of award winners is conducted by the MAFP Board of Directors. Winners will be contacted after a decision has been made, with a formal announcement to the MAFP membership soon-to-follow.

Contact us at or 517.347.0098 if you have questions or need assistance with a nomination.

Make a Nomination Here »


AAFP Awards

For more information on AAFP Awards, including a more detailed description and eligibility criteria for each award, select the award name below. To make a nomination, please contact MAFP Headquarters at or 517.347.0098 for details.

Please note: Many AAFP award nominations must come from MAFP Headquarters. If you have questions about this, please contact us.

  • AAFP Distinguished Service Award
    This award recognizes a member's long-time dedication to furthering the specialty of Family Medicine within his/her chapter or nationally. It commends exceptional individual effort.
  • Humanitarian Award
    This award honors extraordinary and enduring humanitarian efforts, both within and beyond the borders of the United States.
  • Robert Graham Family Physician Executive Award
    This award was established to recognize an outstanding Family Physician for his/her role as a physician executive. This award is reserved for Academy members whose executive skills in healthcare organizations have contributed to excellence in the provision of high quality healthcare, and demonstrated that Family Physicians can have an impact on improving the overall health of the nation.
  • Thomas W. Johnson Award for Career Contributions to Family Medicine Education
    This award is designed to recognize persons who, in the opinion of the AAFP Board of Directors, have made outstanding contributions to education for Family Medicine in undergraduate, graduate and continuing medical education spheres.
  • Outstanding Service Award
    This award is the Academy's highest recognition for vendors, suppliers and companies that support the medical profession or their employees, and members of the AAFP national staff who have fostered the mission of Family Medicine and the Academy through contributions of time, effort or resources. Such contributions could either be made over time or through a single significant effort.
  • Public Health Award
    This award recognizes extraordinary contributions to the American public's health.
  • Honorary Membership
    This award recognizes persons of distinction who have rendered outstanding service to the AAFP or the medical profession, or for distinguished members of the AAFP who have retired from practice.
  • Exemplary Teaching Awards
    These awards acknowledge Academy members who deserve recognition of exemplary teaching skills as well as individuals who have implemented outstanding educational programs and/or developed innovative teaching models.
  • Nikitas J. Zervanos Outstanding Program Director Award
    This award recognizes a Family Medicine residency director who has demonstrated leadership and advancement of the specialty, served as a mentor to residents/medical students, and served the community as well as the organizations of the family of Family Medicine.
  • AAFP Foundation Philanthropist of the Year Award
    This award identifies an individual(s) or couple(s) who exemplify the spirit of philanthropy through extraordinary support of Family Medicine.