The Archie Award of Excellence

The Archie Award of Excellence is presented annually to honor a Michigan resident who differentiates himself/herself by their actions on behalf of MAFP and the healthcare community, similar to Dr. Archie W. Bedell. The the late Archie W. Bedell, MD, PhD, of Ottawa Lake, Michigan, was a long-time member and past president of MAFP. He distinguished himself in service to the Academy, the specialty of Family Medicine, and to the community-at-large throughout his career. Dr. Bedell was a pioneer in Family Medicine education and a champion of underrepresented constituents. This award was established by the MAFP Board of Directors in 2001.

MAFP members or representatives of medical organizations may submit nominations to MAFP by March 1, 2016. The award will be presented at the Michigan Family Medicine Annual Conference & Expo (for more information about the 2016 Annual Conference & Expo taking place July 11-14 in Bay City, see upcoming events).


The nominee for this award may be a physician, community member, or corporate entity that has demonstrated distinguished service to the Academy and to Family Medicine as a whole. All previously nominated physicians who were not selected are eligible for reconsideration; however, this does require re-nomination. Please note: it is not necessary to be an MAFP member to receive this award.

To Submit a Nomination

  • Complete an individual nomination form by March 1, 2016, for each nominee and each award.
  • Submit* to MAFP by March 1, 2016, the following supporting materials:
    • A letter of recommendation from a non-family member of the nominee who also supports the nomination
    • Any additional supporting materials that the nominator feels will help in the decision-making process

*To submit supporting materials to MAFP, email them to; fax to 517.347.1289; or mail to: MAFP, Attn: Academy Awards, 2164 Commons Parkway, Okemos, MI 48864.

Make a Nomination Here »


Past Award Winners

James F. Peggs, MD
Karen B. Mitchell, MD, FAAFP
Susan Schooley, MD
George Dean, MD, FAAFP
(Bloomfield Hills)
Timothy J. Tobolic, MD
(Byron Center)
Nell A. Rhoades*
Douglas Jackson, MD
William P. Gifford, MD
John Zimmerman, MD
(Grand Rapids)
Janice Klos, CAE
(formerly Grand Ledge)
Duane Possanza, MD
Kim K. Yu, MD, FAAFP