Honoring Our Members: 2015 Call for Academy Award Nominations


The MAFP Nominating Committee is excited to announce the call for the 2015 Academy Awards. Awards to honor the most outstanding educator, resident, and Family Physicians are now open for nominations, and will be presented at the 2015 Annual Conference & Expo. Nominations for 2015 are due February 20, and information about the awards (including eligibility requirements, nomination information, and past winners) appears below. If you know someone who is worthy of nomination, please take a moment to complete our simple nomination process. 

For questions or help with nominations, contact MAFP Headquarters at or 517.347.0098.

Each year, the Michigan Academy of Family Physicians (MAFP) honors outstanding individuals in the Michigan Family Medicine community who most highly exemplify the mission, vision, and values of the Academy. Awards are presented each year at the MAFP Annual Conference & Expo (for more information, see upcoming events), and it is truly a moment to remember as we honor and celebrate these outstanding individuals.

Award Descriptions/Nomination Information

For more information about award nominations, including a more detailed description and eligibility criteria for each award, see the sections below. Please note: there is no cost to nominate an individual for any award category, and self-nominations are acceptable.

Family Physician of the Year
The Family Physician of the Year award is presented annually to a member physician who truly exemplifies the traditions and values of the Family Medicine profession, and clearly demonstrates desire to contribute to the continuing health of Michigan citizens.

Family Medicine Educator of the Year
The Family Medicine Educator of the Year award is presented annually to an individual who has made outstanding contributions to education for Family Medicine in undergraduate, graduate, and continuing medical education.

Outstanding Family Medicine Resident of the Year
The Outstanding Family Medicine Resident of the Year award is presented annually to a resident who exhibits qualities of exemplary patient care, demonstrates leadership, displays a commitment to the community, contributes to scholarly activity, and is dedicated to the specialty of Family Medicine.

The Archie Award of Excellence
The Archie Award of Excellence is presented annually to honor individuals in the state of Michigan who differentiate themselves by their actions on behalf of MAFP and the health care community, similar to Dr. Archie W. Bedell. Nominees do not have to be MAFP members or Family Physicians.

Award nominations are submitted each year to the MAFP Nominating Committee, which will review all nominations and recommend finalists in each category to the MAFP Board of Directors. Final approval and selection of award winners is conducted by the MAFP Board. Winners will be contacted after a decision has been made, with a formal announcement to the MAFP membership to follow.

Please submit completed nominations to MAFP Headquarters at, or fax them to 517.347.1289. Contact us at or 517.347.0098 if you have questions or need assistance with a nomination.

Make a Nomination Here »